Welcome to my corner of journalism

My journalism journey has taken me to the hometown of former NFL quarterback Steve McNair days after he was slain in a murder-suicide; my kitchen stove as I shared family recipes in a video blog; local shopping malls as I penned a series of columns on Christmas shopping from a bachelor’s perspective; NFL locker rooms, part of a enterprise project on the financial thriftiness – and squandering – of pro athletes.

During a six-week reporting stint in New Orleans – immediately following Hurricane Katrina – I had a rifle pointed at me by military personnel.

I discovered that New Orleans native Johnny Wright, a former ace of the Homestead Greys in the Negro Baseball League, debuted at Dodgers spring training, side by side, with Jackie Robinson in the winter of 1946.

High School wrestler Hasaan Hawthornne, a double-amputee athlete, inspired me with his stubborn determination. Delvin Breaux, did the same. When I interviewed Breaux, he was on his way to reaching the NFL, despite never playing college football (due to a life-threatening neck injury).

So many stories. I’d love to let yours.

 

Leave a Reply

